Fabulous Fantasy from Naomi Novik.

Spinning SilverSpinning Silver by Naomi Novik

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I finished Spinning Silver last week. I can’t bring myself to take it back to the library just yet. Such a wonderful story, so well written. There are a lot of characters and sometimes I was a bit confused as to who did what to whom – but I puzzled it out in the end!

Naomi Novik is an amazing storyteller. I’m not sure how she keeps track of all the plot lines. Ursula K. Le Guin says of Naomi Novik that her writing is “vividly believable”. I don’t know if she’s talking about this book Spinning Silver in particular or another title – it doesn’t matter because it is true of this book and also Uprooted.

I would recommend Spinning Silver to any reader who enjoys fantasy. So good.

View all my reviews

Advertisements
Fabulous Fantasy from Naomi Novik.

Review: The Starlit Wood

The Starlit Wood: New Fairy TalesThe Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales by Dominik Parisien

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I enjoy fantasy and I enjoy short stories. The Starlit Wood ticks the boxes.

Some of the stories are disturbing but in good way! There are only a couple that didn’t appeal. The best ones to my mind are an amazing take on Little Red Riding Hood by Seanan McGuire, Seasons of Glass and Iron by Amal El-Mohtar. Garth Nix doesn’t disappoint with Penny for a Match, Mister? Not to be missed The Briar and the Rose by Marjorie M. Liu. Possibly my favourite is Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik. I love the way that, in most of the stories, the empowerment is given to the character who is downtrodden in the original.

I felt quite sad when I finished the final story.

View all my reviews

Review: The Starlit Wood

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

The Bear and the NightingaleThe Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a delightful story. Robin Hobb calls it, “An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale.”
Terry Brooks calls it, “Haunting and lyrical.”
I call it a wonderful story. If you enjoy fantasy, if you enjoy Robin Hobb, I thoroughly recommend it. the blurb says the The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, Naomi Novik’s Uprooted (which I have still to read) and Neil Gaiman.
The tale is a retelling of old Russian fairy tales – mainly the one called Frost. I first read these stories when I was a young child. The story is in Arthur Ransome’s lovely book Old Peter’s Russian Tales. that sits on my desk as I write this review.
The hero is a young woman and it is her growing up and finding her strength in the face of an enormously patriarchal society.
Katherine Arden’s telling of the tale is enchanting and I found it hard to put down, although I knew the ending.

View all my reviews

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden