Oyster, by Janet Turner Hospital. Read it at your peril

OysterOyster by Janette Turner Hospital
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There were times when I thought, “I can’t continue”. Oyster is best taken in small doses. Janet Turner Hospital is a master of her craft. She draws you in and shakes you up. The horror of some scenes – and they are ‘scenes’ – hurt me physically.
Oyster is set in outback Queensland, in the throes of drought. Outer Maroo, an off the map settlement in an off the map location, and the strangest population of any settlement anywhere.
If I put on my academic’s hat, I’d say this was postmodernism at it’s peak, but that’s a personal opinion.
Strangely, since I read the book, I keep coming across references to Quilpie (which does exist) and other ‘real’ places in Outback Queensland that are mentioned in the book.
If you’re up for the challenge, I encourage you to read this book!

View all my reviews

Oyster, by Janet Turner Hospital. Read it at your peril

One thought on “Oyster, by Janet Turner Hospital. Read it at your peril

  1. While reading this book, I spent time on Retreat with Liana Joy Christensen and Sally Riddell, one of the themes of which was “The Map is not the Territory”. It was only when I was writing this review that it struck me …

    Like

Leave a Reply

