Discombobulation

Now here’s the rub (Hamlet: To sleep — perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub!)

Choose three favourite books. So I did. Then I thought about it and chose three different books. I thought some more and chose three more. “This is silly” thought I. “Just choose three favourite books”. Nope, it doesn’t work. There are always three more that are just as favoured. I check my bookshelves. Three more! Three more! So, choosing  becomes a confusion.

Discombobulation. discombobulate |ˌdɪskəmˈbɒbjʊleɪt|
verb [with object] humorous, chiefly North American
disconcert or confuse (someone): (as adjective discombobulated)

Discombobulate is not necessarily acceptable in academic writing. Trust me, I tried and I know.

Before I fell in love with Elvis, before I fell in love with Leonard Cohen, I fell in love with Laurence Olivier – there, I’ve said it.

hamlet-sir-laurence-olivier

Discombobulation

One thought on “Discombobulation

Leave a Reply

