Hey Yogis – watch that weight!

Interesting turn of events … it is the time of year that we (you and me) tend to overdo the food and drink thingo. Weight gain is one of the downsides of this. I read about how we must practise moderation etc. and continue with our exercise regime (if we have one) and it might not happen! Well, let me tell you it is not that easy. I have some tips that may help if this concerns you. 

  • The 80/20 plan is fairly easy to stick to – i.e be good 80% of the time and indulge 20% of the time – this works on a weekly, daily or even a meal by meal basis.
  • From my grandmother I learned to refuse (politely of course) second helpings of any food – that goes for salads as much as icecream.
  • Small plates are an excellent idea; helpings are automatically smaller.
  • Focus! No eating and watching television or reading … Zen wisdom:  “With your full mind you form the mudra in your hands … when you sit, you will sit … When you eat, you will eat. That is all” (Shunyryu Suzuki). You can only try it and see how it works for you. Mind you, I think friendly conversation is good at meal times.
  • If you can maintain your physical exercise that is wonderful! I find that if I get out of bed in the morning and straight on to my Yoga mat – I don’t give myself a chance to think, ‘not today … ‘ It works for me! 15-20 minutes is all that is needed to energise for the whole day! Start with stretches and move on to asana – you’ll find 20 minutes is easily filled. The Five Tibetans give you a real boost too. 
  • Drink plenty of water! Soft drinks and fizzy drinks in moderation.

I hope this is useful to you! It works for me and my weight has remained fairly constant for the last few years (since menopause …) and this year, since I gave up dairy, it has dropped a few kilos. I read the book Whitewash by Joseph Keon that’s enough to put anyone off milk! I don’t know if it is that bad in Australia but I’ve felt so much better since giving up dairy – and I don’t get as much hay-fever. I confess to still having a slice of strong cheddar when the mood takes me! (I think I crave the salt).


I hope you have a wonderful time over the silly season and an excellent 2012.
 

Hey Yogis – watch that weight!

Leave a Reply

