Out and about


We went through to Albania today so Stella (the LBD*) could have her hair cut. A trip to Albany is a big outing for us! We set off late – for various reasons – and we were travelling in the Rocky** which makes life a little slower. The 10am appointment seemed achievable when I made it but with road works and other diversions, the 120kms between Walpole and Albany took a little longer than expected. OK, we were late. Latish, and I did phone from the Marbelup crossing to explain …
Roland is not used to driving in traffic and Albany was busy. Lucky we have out-of-town number plates because some of his driving strategies were hair-raising. We attracted some strange looks and stranger language. If my hair wasn’t so curly I’d have ended up looking like Struwwelpeter or like someone who had inserted their finger into the electric socket. However, in my old age I’ve learned to shut-up and practice my pelvic floor exercises. Believe me, this is not difficult in the circumstances.
Our other business was to buy a deepfreeze. I’d made a list of all the relevant dealers so we were relatively well organised. In the event, the first shop we went to had exactly what we wanted, size, shape etc. and at a good price. Julie, the helpful, courteous, friendly woman who sold it to us gave us a great deal. Getting it into the back of the Rocky was slightly more problematic and there was much shifting of seats and huffing and puffing until it was satisfactorily lodged and the back door could shut. I did the shutting-up/pelvic floor exercises trick again. LBD had to squeeze into a small space but she didn’t seem to mind. She curled up and went to sleep for the trip home. I guess she was just pleased to be with her humans again. It can’t be much fun being bathed, clipped and having your anal glands emptied (although it probably feels really good after it is finished).
So, after all that, the freezer is now home, it is up and running and waiting to filled with the fish that are waiting to be caught – but not by me.

*Little black dog
** 4WD Daihatsu Rocky, not an SUV, more like a little truck and not built for comfort.

Out and about

2 thoughts on “Out and about

  1. Hey Seamus, don’t give me such a fright! I’m nervous enough about blogging – it is like peeling off a layer of skin … nowhere to hide!

    Like

Leave a Reply

